Well here goes…

If you travel up the East coast of England, you will come across the Humber Estuary, a large body of tidal water where the north meets the south. On the ‘north bank’ of the Humber, lies the city of Hull, the UK City of Culture for 2017. This is where I come from. My name is Jonjo, a tall mid – twenties Yorkshire lad who, like many before me (no doubt) have been pestered by friends and family into starting a blog. They have been at me for a while trying to get me to do it, arguing that I always have a good way with words and would be good at it. Goodness knows where they got that idea from. Firstly, I don’t know the first thing about it. Secondly, I have no idea what to write about (or what people would want to read). However seeing as I have already mentioned it briefly earlier in this post. I will make this first post about the Hull being the UK City of Culture 2017.

This is something that I have great interest in. Living in Hull for many years,  I like to consider myself a local lad with bags of local pride. It would be forgiven ten years ago if you had walked through the grey concrete Jungle which was Hull thinking that you had arrived in the wrong place (after being told that eventually the place would become a City of Culture). But how times change.

In the last ten years, what was once a mass of grey concrete buildings which, truth be told were a complete bore has been gradually renovated with funding from both national and local government as well as private sources. As we stand in 2014, Hull boasts a multi coloured skyline with many new buildings sporting futuristic architecture amongst the grey of the concrete whilst still maintaining Hull’s links with the past. Amongst these new building’s include the Deep aquarium, a renovated Bus and Train interchange, Princess Quay Shopping Centre, New Theatre and even the main hospital (which is being renovated at the time of writing) should it be needed. These developments, in turn have brought in tourists and other visitors to commerce making Hull a truly multicultural place to live. I know of no other place where you can walk through the Land of Green Ginger with its aged buildings and character and within five minutes walk though onto the attractive and modern waterfront. Add to this that Hull is a place truly on the edge, there is not much East of Hull (apart from Spurn head and the North sea). The combination of all of these points makes me proud to say that I hail from Hull… The UK City of Culture for 2017.

A note to readers: As this is my first post, I would like to ask for any feedback. Please feel free to provide honest comments in relation to this first post. Any received would be greatly appreciated.

Well here goes…

One thought on “Well here goes…

  1. Thanks. Best of luck with the blog! Plenty going on in Hull (and historically) to write about. Look forward to reading more here. Regards from Thom at the immortal jukebox.

Leave a Reply

