Homelessness

It is funny I should read such an enlightening post on homelessness. I walked past a homeless man earlier today who was sat outside my local fish and chip restaurant. He held in his hand a can of super strength lager and was looking extremely emaciated. As I walked past our gaze briefly met, he smiled; a smile which I returned. I went inside the chippy and purchased my lunch. I was in the middle of my Christmas shopping and was so hungry.

My thoughts drifted back to the homeless man sat outside. I bought him fish and chips – this man who I did not know at all. When I took it to him outside, he could not believe it. I told him to enjoy and carried on with my business. I turned around and saw him tucking in with a look of real contentment on his face. The moral of this story is that we should all be aware of how lucky we are to have a roof over our heads this Christmas, and how easy it is to become homeless.

Secondly, it is always nice to do a good deed during the festive period as a small thing can mean such a lot. I wonder where that man is now – where will he sleep tonight? I therefore call on all my readers to remember those who are less fortunate than ourselves this Christmas. Merry Christmas to you all.

polaroidprocrastination

Christmas is fast on the approach- carols are on the radio, presents are under the tree and the preparation for family meals has begun.
Tonight, children will hang stockings by the fire or put clogs outside their houses, in the hope that Santa will behold them with gifts when they arise tomorrow morning. But on the other side of the world and in our neighbouring countries, even on our streets, men, women, boys and girls are starving. The greatest gift they will get this year is life and they will expect nothing more, but what if we could change that? If we home them and feed them, care for them and nourish them, they may begin to see life for the little pleasures, rather than the pain of the hunger and cold that braces them this year.
Whilst we hug our parents and joyously thank them, they will be being…

View original post 376 more words

Homelessness

Leave a Reply

